Skip to content

When is Texting (Or Tweeting) Unacceptable?

August 12, 2009

When I am with my friends, I never feel like it is inappropriate to pull out my phone to text/tweet/email, etc, even if we were out to a nice dinner. It probably isn’t weird because they doing it too, no one even thinks twice about it. Gen-Y and Gen-X have grown up as generations of multitaskers; we hardly even know how to do one thing at a time, it can be boring. BUT, as I have learned the hard way, through dirty looks from my parents, that there are times and places when some of the older generations still feel this is severely disrespectful. I completely understand where they are coming from, because it appears that I am not paying any attention to them when my face keeps turning down to my phone, but in fact I generally feel just as capable of listening to every word they say while doing this. Taking that into consideration I have come up with the following list of places NOT to be using any form of PDA:

Unacceptable List: (For Twitter #donttweetwhile)

While on a date
If with your parents + any of their friends
Family in general that is not Gen-Y or younger (especially grandparents)
*In an interview
During televised political speech (see above)
In class
In most work settings (depending on field and company)
In any meeting (*especially with boss)
Funeral
In movie theater while movie is playing (been guilty of this, but obnoxious to others)
While operating heavy machinery
Crossing street in city (seriously, I have almost died)
(Insert your own in comment box below)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Temple Rosenberger permalink
    August 12, 2009 3:17 pm

    I know you mentioned while operating heavy machinery, but I think while driving ANYTHING should be noted, as well. It’s the scariest thing ever when you’re driving down the highway and look to the next lane and see someone getting his tweet/text on. So wrong!

  2. August 12, 2009 3:19 pm

    I think it’s rude to text message while you’re talking to an associate at a store or if you’re ordering dinner at a restaurant. I use to work at Macy’s and I couldn’t stand it when people were trying to talk to me while they were either texting or talking on the phone.

  3. jenniewhite permalink
    August 12, 2009 3:34 pm

    I work in retail and it bothers me when people are texting or tweeting (I can never tell which one) while I am cashing them out or helping them find something. I wish they would just be there, interacting with me 100%. We’re only talking for about 40 seconds, can’t that text/tweet wait?

    other ones:
    treadmill
    in the bathroom, shower
    driving

    I am going to think of more, maybe with the help of some friends. Great post, a lot of people need to see this!

Leave a Reply

