Skip to content

#Followfriday Has Become a #Followfraud

June 5, 2009

#followfriday taught me what a hashtag was, and the power it can hold back when I was much more of a Twitter-newb. I have come to love the idea of trending hashtags and hashtag events.  They let Tweeters find others interested in topics in a way they never could, and that is the whole purpose of Twitter! 

While the hasgtag can be an incredibly useful tool, it also has the potential of being easily abused. #followfriday is the perfect example of this. For a long time Friday was my favorite day on Twitter for a few reasons. First, it allowed me to track how many people found my tweets worthwhile enough to take the time to #followfriday me. Secondly, I was able to find a large number of new interesting tweeple to follow by paying attention to people’s #followfridays that I trusted. Both of these points have become moot of late though, because of the popularity it has gained. Now many people don’t just #followfriday tweeple they value, but as many people as possible. I was even #followfriday’ed last week by a person who wasn’t following me!

Now all #followfriday means to me is a day where tweeters try to get as many tweets out with handles in them with the hopes of getting more followers (basically spamming). 

@AndyCronin summed up my feelings well when he tweeted me this: “I wish followfriday would act like it was originally intended, and not continue to b a way to increase spam to followers.”

This is why I propose that people should point out #followfraud on Friday’s (the people who are clearly using #followfriday as a way to spam, and not to contribute to the original idea of the hashtag)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2009 12:40 pm

    I think there’s a right way and a wrong way to do #followfriday. Quality trumps quantity and provide a reason why your followers should follow other people. The strangest is when someone RT’s someone else’s laundry list of tweeps! Just blogged about this myself last Friday: http://www.flyteblog.com/flyte/2009/06/what-is-followfriday-or-ff-best-practices.html

    • agencyatlarge permalink*
      June 14, 2009 9:31 pm

      You are right that there are very useful ways to utilize #followfriday, and I really liked your examples on your blog post. Thanks for directing me to it!

  2. July 28, 2009 1:52 pm

    I am confused by the motive behind spamming for follow Friday and just spamming in general. The first few times I used follow Friday I thought all morning who I was going to recommend and why. Eventually when I tweeted my recommendation, I was jubilant and eager to hear that persons response. I don’t understand how twitter users still generate pleasure from plugging everyone they know (and this problem applies to all aspects: hash-tags, links, re tweeting, it’s all over done)

    When are people going to understand that if you eat a box of chocolates everyday, they won’t taste as sweet.

Leave a Reply

