Skip to content

Cuervo or Captain?

December 21, 2008

Ok, so I was planning a long post discussing why advertising doesn’t matter once brand loyalty is developed, but I’ll save that and simply talk about the creativity (or lack of) of 2 brands: Jose Cuervo and Captain Morgan. I love Cuervo – I don’t like their advertising. I don’t like Captain – I looooove their advertising (Seriously, they are hilarious).

First Cuervo, are you guys kidding me? The attempts to seem cool or flashy are ridiculous. Maybe this works for the “clubbing” crowd that they are aiming for, but it doesn’t work for me. I am going to show you a couple of their commercials, and you let me know if you feel the same way I do. I mean the first one isn’t terrible, but the second one is just plain bad. 

That one is from their newest campaign, which has a few spots similar to this. I guess it is a little creative, and the guy who has to pay the bill kind of looks like the actor in the Transporter, but for some reason I really don’t like these ads. Everything from the music to the dark atmosphere, this does not scream Jose Cuervo to me. Ok, ok, so I haven’t convinced you yet? Check out this old gem:

I mean, what was the conversation in the creative meeting for this campaign? “Umm, people don’t seem to be ordering Jose Cuervo… I know! Let’s tell them exactly how to order one!!!” Genius, pure genius. 

Ok, enough of that. Now for the good stuff (well the good advertising). The best part about this is that I struggled to narrow it down to only 2 funny ones, because they are all funny. Ok this first one is a classic, and just plain creative: 

It is a realistic story line – who hasn’t been in a similar situation? – and it is upbeat and clever, I love it. (If you liked that one, find the pizza delivery one). The next one is from their newest campaign, and it is as funny as their last: 

Yeah, it is kind of stupid, but it is funny. It works for the holidays and it makes you laugh, which people love to do. 

The fact of the matter is that the advertising doesn’t do anything for me, because I don’t like rum & Cokes, but I love Margaritas (I know Cuervo Black isn’t for Margaritas, but still). The advertising isn’t going to change how I feel about Captain Morgan’s product, but it makes me love their brand, which doesn’t hurt. 

Can you think of a commercial you love bye a brand that you don’t love? 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

