Skip to content

Imitation Isn’t Competition…

December 2, 2008

Imitation isn’t competition if the original is still way better than its competitors. That being said, is anyone else tired of iPhone immitators? Especially since none of them even come close to the iPhone’s abilities. From the App Store to the iPod, the iPhone is unmatched, and imitations need to stop, now! I would love to wake up one day and have a new phone come out that is not trying to rival the iPhone, but is actually trying to be truly better.

I got the idea for this post over the holiday weekend, while I was playing with a friends Sprint Instinct. As a one time supporter of this phone, even though I had never really had a chance to check it out, all I have to say is that I was more than disappointed with it’s functions and overall platform. Here is a post I wrote about the Instinct over the summer: The Sprint Instinct: A for Effort. Oh, how young and naive I was to think that this phone would be able to catch the iPhone, but now I am a few months older, and a few months wiser and I realize that the iPhone and Apple cannot be stopped.

All I’m asking is that the LGs and Motorolas of the world, please do us a favor, and provide us with a phone that we cannot even try to compare to the iPhone, unless it is ACTUALLY better.

Let’s take a look at the list of imitators:

Verizon: LG Venus, LG Voyager, LG Dare, Samsung Glyde, Verizon Wireless XV6900, Motorola Krave, Blackberry Storm.

AT&T: AT&T Tilt, HTC Fuze, LG Incite.

Sprint: Sprint Instinct, HTC Touch Pro, HTC Touch Diamond, HTC Mogul.

What other imitators are there? I’d love to see some from Alltel!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

