Skip to content

Hate It or Love It – Week 1

November 19, 2008

This marks week 1 of “Hate It or Love It Wednesdays” where we will comment on a recently released television advertisement, and then ask whether you hate it or love it. I originally wanted to do the new campaign by Circuit City, with the walking, talking televisions, but I was unable to find the link (Which might be a reason they are going bankrupt – No Web 2.0). So I decided to do the new Guitar Hero ad featuring Kobe Bryant, A-Rod, Michael Phelps and Tony Hawk (Below).

First time around, I hated the ad for a few reasons.

1. I hate A-Rod (Go Sox!)

2. I don’t want to see any of these people in boxers and pink collared shirts

3. The song choice was poor and overdone (Old Time Rock & Roll)

But now as I watch it, I think it is kind of funny, so I am coming around. The main reason I like it is because A-Rod might be the worst dancer I have ever seen.

How did Activision/Guitar Hero get all of these athletes to do this commercial? These are quite possibly the most popular athletes in each of their respective sports, and guitar hero got them all, how does this happen? I’m actually shocked there was no appearance by Peyton Manning or Ladainian Tomlinson. Below is Kobe talking about his part in the advertisement.

The newest Guitar Hero commercial is very similar, but features Heidi Klum, and let me say, it is much much better.

Now it’s your turn! What do you think of this ad???

One Comment leave one →
  1. StephCosta permalink
    November 19, 2008 5:58 pm

    I like it. I think its cute and funny. And part of the appeal is the big ticket athletes. All in all, it’s nothing ground breaking, but it fits the brand – just fun.

Leave a Reply

